Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gearbox Change

Hi,

Just a quick question on gearboxes. How difficult is it to change a automatic gearbox to a manual gearbox in a 3.0td Toyota surf? Is it just a matter of getting a manual gearbox, clutch pedal, new brake pedal and unbolting the automatic gearbox and sliding in the manual gearbox and pedals and off you go or is it more complicated than that?

Cheers
    Brood
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    All I want for X-mas is a garage stocked with tools and a manual 3.0td Surf

I think it's a bit more complicated than that mate! I'm no expert, but from my limited knowledge auto boxes have torque converters which change gear (I think). They don't have clutches so just fitting a clutch pedal would be pointless. You would also have to fit a clutch and all the associated ancillaries.

No doubt the more mechanically adept members will be along shortly to give you more in depth details!
    Last edited by Scorpion; 18 February 2009, 18:28.
    'Tis better to sting than to be stung!

Comment

I wonder aswell if the ECU would go nuts as the gearbox sensor thingys wouldn't be communicating back?!

Either way, probably a fair amount of hassle mate..

Comment

Thanks guys for ur input is greatly appreciated. It looks like I'll just have to take my time to find the surf I'm after rather than getting a automatic and converting it.

Comment

Why would you want a manual one anyway? Autos are better...
          Do you know that, with a 50 character limit, it's

Comment

T'is true!

I didnt want to get an auto.. took ages to find a manual surf! then i sold it an as i wanted the facelift model i had to basically put with an auto an it is soo much nicer!

Comment

When I saw the post I thought, Why would anyone do that ?? and thought maybe his autobox was busted and he happened to have a manual available readily or cheaply.