Surf Questions...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surf Questions...

I thought I’d wait about before asking these questions, have a bit of a search and hopefully not ask too many obvious questions J

I have mentioned before that I am looking at getting a Gen 3 surf, with a view to using it as a modified daily driver, I have searched and learned a fair bit about these trucks, but still have a list of questions bout them… Some fairly obvious, some more technical

Here goes!

Was the Recaro interior an option on the Gen 3?

Did they have any form on inclinometer device?

I know hard bull bars are not strictly legal on modern cars, what is the cut off age on a vehicle that this legislation came in with? Will I get away with them legally on a ‘96/97 truck?

Do ARB make a front bar for the Gen 3? I can’t see one on their site, if not will the Prado one fit ok?

I see the E locker diffs are an option, are they fairly rare? I assume the middle and rear diff can be locked?

Diesel vs. Petrol, I know a thread in itself, most I see are diesel, which I have never liked before, how do they compare performance wise to the Petrol? Are they particularly noisy? (I know some diesels are smoother then others) I assume it is the more sensible option J

I will definitely be lifting the truck, probably thinking 4” (ideally all by upgrading suspension????) or so. Also looking at bigger tires and roof lights and a safari style roof rack, My only slight concern is total height, how high is it likely to be? Am I going to have problems with car parks and height restrictions? Anyone here have these problems? Local station car park is 6’3” height, I am not sure if that is average roof space or low, driving sports cars all my life I have never really looked before!